# Using BigBlueButton - FAQ

**URL:** https://forum.meet.coop/t/using-bigbluebutton-faq/268
**Category:** faq - BigBlueButton
**Tags:** time-now, member-user, tech, prod, open-community
**Created:** [7 August 2020 14:26 UTC](https://forum.meet.coop/t/using-bigbluebutton-faq/268 "2020-08-07T14:26:57Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Showing post:** 15

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![benhylau](https://forum.meet.coop/user_avatar/forum.meet.coop/benhylau/32/12_2.png) [@benhylau](https://forum.meet.coop/u/benhylau)
#### Post date: [31 August 2020 09:19 UTC](https://forum.meet.coop/t/using-bigbluebutton-faq/268/15 "2020-08-31T09:19:10Z")

</div>

I have two questions from a current and a prospective member, quoting them here:

1. 

> […] we can do recording on the server, right ? Does it stay forever, or is deleted after a while ?

2. 

> if I have an account for 10 people and by chance on some occasion more than 10 try to attend, is the 11th person locked out? Or is it a matter of a user who exceeds 10 users on several occasions should really upgrade their account?

* * *

@benhylau:

## 1. Recording

By default, BBB creates two raw video streams that you can download if you have the meeting ID:

- Webcams + audio
- Screen share (with no audio)

Other assets are included as image files, etc. BBB has a web-based user interface that allows users to navigate through a combined interface, but that cannot be downloaded into a single video for upload to a hosting platform such as YouTube.

We are working to add a single downloadable video file that includes [presentation + audio + screen share], this however does not include webcams.

@hng I want to clarify how room recording works in our newly upgraded Greenlight. My understanding is:

- when one creates a room, one can choose whether the room is a **recorded room** or **non-recorded room**
- in a **recorded room** everything is recorded as a _raw stream_, and a recording button in the BBB user interface allows a moderator to create markers where the non-recorded segments (when button is off) will be omitted from the _processed stream_
  - _raw streams_ are kept on the server for _x_ days, only accessible to sysadmins
  - _processed streams_ are kept on the server for _y_ days, accessible to users

- in a **non-recorded room** nothing is recorded by the BBB server and there is no button to toggle recording
- downloading of the recording as .mp4 / .webm file is work-in-progress, tracked here [Self-serve download video recordings](https://forum.meet.coop/t/self-serve-download-video-recordings/280)

@hng it seems that I cannot yet choose whether a room is a **recorded room** or **non-recorded room**. I am want to know what _x_ and _y_ are configured on the server, and I propose keeping _y_ as infinite until we sort out the download user interface.

## 2. Room participant limits

@hng Is this currently a soft or hard limit? I know we discussed some option within Product and Tech, the options are:

- making this a complete honour system until we are short on resources
- set a padding, where we set 12 max. in a tier that has a 10 max. limit
- set strict limits, 10 means 10

I would like to know what is the current configuration or [ca.meet.coop](http://ca.meet.coop) and eventually Product needs to decide on final policy.

Thanks!

---

_[View the full topic](https://forum.meet.coop/t/using-bigbluebutton-faq/268)._
